Administration

 

EXECUTIVE

 

Karen Streeter

President

Director of Sponsorship

kstreeter@viex.ca

 

Brian Cornborough

Vice President

Director of Security

bcornborough@viex.ca

 

Margaret Joyce

Secretary

Director of Home Arts

mjoyce@viex.ca

 

Stephen Kass – Treasurer

Stephen Kass considers himself a long time Vancouver Islander.  Having lived in the Nanaimo for over 30 years, he has raised his family, operated his retail Halloween and haunted house businesses, and has been a proud volunteer in the community.

In 2004, Stephen became part of the VIEx family.  Elected as President for 4 years and subsequently holding the Treasurer position for the last 8 years, Stephen has seen many changes to the City and the VIEx.  As a lifetime VIEx member, Stephen looks forward to the ongoing development and completion of the new Agricultural Centre at Beban Park in the upcoming years. You can contact Stephen at skass@viex.ca

 

DIRECTORS

 

 

Contessa Abbott – Kids Zone Director

Contessa Abbott has been involved with the Alberta music and festival industry over 10 years. She started by organizing workshops and facilitating conferences while taking her Social Work Bachelor’s Degree, and raising her four children. She proudly has influenced many community development and grassroots projects, combining her love of music and helping others together. Over the years she was able to work with many notable artists and organizations in the fashion, acting, music, and humanitarian fields.

Contessa and her children have recently made Nanaimo their new home and she continues to be involved with the entertainment and community development industries both in Alberta and BC. Being a part of VIEX is a family affair for her and her children. They are excited to continue growing the kids zone as well as including more youth interests into the area. Contessa looks forward to being a part of VIEX for her term and for many years to come. You can contact Contessa at cabbott@viex.ca

 

Scan_20170616

Patricia (Trisha) Barnes – Community Festival Stage Director

Tricia Barnes is a long time community volunteer.  She is a former teacher with a strong background in leadership, facilitating and organizing. Her involvement in a variety of diverse cultural and community activities has equipped her with a spectrum of experiences for Director with the VIEx.

She has stage managed shows with local theatre groups. Tricia see the VIEx as a “Festival of Passions”.  She is delighted to have joined the team for this year and presently is selecting performers from our community to entertain you all.  You can contact Tricia at tbarnes@viex.ca

Don Boyd

Director of Mainstage

dboyd@viex.ca

 

Jim Brown

Director – Livestock/4-H

jbrown@viex.ca

 

Christina Carlson

Director of Commercial Expo/Home Show

ccarlson@viex.ca

 

Cindy Entesary

Director of Outside Concessions & Vendors

centesary@viex.ca

 

no photoKelly Walsh – Director Of Maintenance

My name is Kelly Walsh. I have been volunteering with the VIEx since 2013. This is my first year as a Director. I am currently the Director of Maintenance. It is my responsibility to setup and take down the fair. During the fair, my crew is responsible for the clean up of the fair. You can contact Kelly at kwalsh@viex.ca

 

no photoMichelle Walsh – Volunteer Director

My name is Michelle Walsh and for me volunteering is a way of life, you either love it or you don’t. I have always enjoyed giving back to the community I feel it defines me. My goal in life is to inspire others to give back in any way they can, not because they have to,but because they want to.

Being a volunteer is a big part of my family. I can not think of 1 family member who has not volunteered some way.  I have been with the VIEx since 2012, I am currently the Director of  Volunteers and have also sat as the vice president for 1 year.  I have made so many wonderful connections with so many wonderful  people and I would not change it for the world. You can contact Michelle at michellew@viex.ca

 

Shirley Welcher

Director of Hospitality

swelcher@viex.ca

 

 

ADMINISTRATION

 

info@viex.ca

 

LIFETIME MEMBERS

  • Gene Daniel
  • Elsie Cullen
  • Herman VandenBroek
  • Greig McLeod
  • Peggy Derbyshire
  • Bill Jackson
  • Ed Barnett
  • Lawrie Raymer
  • Tom Lamb
  • Erica Defrane
  • Lynn Orvis
  • Scott Nyman
  • Karen Streeter
  • Jim Brown
  • Kerry Kass
  • Stephen Kass
  • John Bruce
  • Gladys Adams

 

HONOURARY MEMBERS

  • Don Finkbeiner
  • Ray Simpson
  • Marv Worden
  • Walter Adams
  • Kathy Brown
  • Karen Clevette
  • Barb Robinson
  • Julie Devereaux
  • Nancy Harvey
  • Tricia Egeli
  • Dave Streeter
  • Leo Reiger
  • Gary Butcher

 

IN MEMORY OF

  • Harry Lychak
  • John Abma

 

For all general inquiries please click here.